Rob Bell’s limited view of hell – Concealed universalism

Love WinsSo, the early verdict is in.  The storm that erupted recently on the greatly anticipated book by Rob Bell seems to be justified.  Tim Challies reviewed an advance copy of the book which I gladly reference here.

Now, some might ask why I have not taken the time to read the book myself and/or go on someone elses word.  The answer is quite simple.  Firstly I am a busy father of 4 who needs to be very selective in how I spend my time.  And secondly, Rom 16:19 says:  “For your obedience is known to all, so that I rejoice over you, but I want you to be wise as to what is good and innocent as to what is evil” (ESV).  A lot of information (such as that learned in school) is based on the work done by other people.  Just take the accounts of history or even biology.

You were not there to witness the events of the 2nd World War, nor have many of us had the opportunity the dissect and study the brain.  So how are we able to know what happened during the war or how our brain works.  By relying on the work of trustworthy people.  I have therefore chosen to rely on the review by Tim (and Aaron) as trustworthy servants of God to help me manage my time and to be innocent of evil.  And yes, I do consider a book that strays this far from the Word of God to be evil.  Even Zondervan questioned the value of this book.

Regards,

Berns

This entry was posted in Apologetic/Theology, Current events, English and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

